Latest UFC rankings update: Jiri Prochazka climbs to No. 2, Giga Chikadze cracks Top 10

    Out with the old and in with the new.

    Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) recently updated its official rankings in the wake of the UFC Vegas 25 mixed martial arts (MMA) event, which took place last Sat. night (May 1, 2021) inside the promotion’s APEX facility in Las Vegas, Nevada.

    Not surprisingly, Jiri Prochazka climbed to the No. 2 spot, thanks to a brutal elbow finish over former light heavyweight title contender Dominick Reyes (highlights here). In addition, kickboxing standout Giga Chikadze cracked the Top 10 by folding featherweight veteran Cub Swanson (replay here).

    Here’s how the rankings are compiled:

    Rankings were generated by a voting panel made up of media members. The media members were asked to vote for who they feel are the top fighters in the UFC by weight-class and pound-for-pound. A fighter is only eligible to be voted on if they are in active status in the UFC. A fighter can appear in more than one weight division at a time. The champion and interim champion are considered to be in the top positions of their respective divisions and therefore are not eligible for voting by weight-class. However, the champions can be voted on for the pound-for-pound rankings.

    Take a look at what the latest rankings field looks like courtesy of Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, T = tie, *NR = Not previously ranked).


    1. Jon Jones
    2. Kamaru Usman
    3. Alexander Volkanovski
    4. Israel Adesanya
    5. Francis Ngannou
    6. Dustin Poirier
    7. Stipe Miocic
    8. Jan Blachowicz
    9. Max Holloway
    10. Deiveson Figueiredo
    11. Robert Whittaker
    12. (T) Justin Gaethje
    12. (T) Petr Yan
    14. Aljamain Sterling
    15. Conor McGregor


    Champion: Deiveson Figueiredo

    1. Brandon Moreno
    2. Askar Askarov
    3. Alexandre Pantoja
    4. Alex Perez
    5. Joseph Benavidez
    6. Brandon Royval
    7. Kai Kara France
    8. Matt Schnell
    9. Rogerio Bontorin
    10. Tim Elliott
    11. David Dvorak
    12. Raulian Paiva
    13. Su Mudaerji
    14. Matheus Nicolau
    14. Amir Albazi


    Champion: Aljamain Sterling

    1. Petr Yan
    2. Cory Sandhagen
    3. Rob Font
    4. Cody Garbrandt
    5. Jose Aldo
    6. Marlon Moraes
    7. Frankie Edgar
    8. Pedro Munhoz
    9. Dominick Cruz
    10. Raphael Assuncao
    11. Merab Dvalishvili +1
    12. Jimmie Rivera -1
    13. Cody Stamann
    14. Kyler Phillips
    15. Marlon Vera



    1. Max Holloway
    2. Brian Ortega
    3. Yair Rodriguez
    4. Chan Sung Jung
    5. Calvin Kattar
    6. Josh Emmett
    7. Arnold Allen
    8. Dan Ige
    9. Shane Burgos
    10. Giga Chikadze +4
    11. Sodiq Yusuff -1
    12. Bryce Mitchell -1
    13. Edson Barboza -1
    14. Movsar Evloev -1
    15. Hakeem Dawodu *NR


    Champion: VACANT

    1. Dustin Poirier
    2. Justin Gaethje
    3. Charles Oliveira
    4. Michael Chandler
    5. Tony Ferguson
    6. Conor McGregor
    7. Rafael dos Anjos
    8. Dan Hooker
    9. Beneil Dariush
    10. Paul Felder
    11. Islam Makhachev
    12. Diego Ferreira
    13. Kevin Lee
    14. Gregor Gillespie
    15. Donald Cerrone


    Champion: KAMARU USMAN

    1. Colby Covington
    2. Gilbert Burns
    3. Leon Edwards
    4. Stephen Thompson
    5. Jorge Masvidal
    6. (T) Vicente Luque
    6. (T) Michael Chiesa +1
    8. Demian Maia
    9. Neil Magny
    10. Geoff Neal
    11. Li Jingliang
    12. Belal Muhammed
    13. Sean Brady
    14. Robbie Lawler
    15. Khamzat Chimaev



    1. Robert Whittaker
    2. Paulo Costa
    3. Marvin Vettori
    4. Jared Cannonier
    5. Derek Brunson
    6. Darren Till
    7. Jack Hermansson
    8. Uriah Hall
    9. Kelvin Gastelum
    10. Edmen Shahbazyan
    11. Sean Strickland +4
    12. Chris Weidman -1
    13. Kevin Holland
    14. Omari Akhmedov -2
    15. Brad Tavares -1


    Champion: Jan Blachowicz

    1. Glover Teixeira
    2. Jiri Prochazka +3
    3. Aleksandar Rakic -1
    4. Thiago Santos
    5. Dominick Reyes -2
    6. Anthony Smith
    7. Magomed Ankalaev
    8. Volkan Oezdemir
    9. Nikita Krylov
    10. Johnny Walker
    11. Ryan Spann
    12. Misha Cirkunov
    13. Jim Crute
    14. Paul Craig
    15. Jamall Hill


    Champion: Francis Ngannou

    1. Stipe Miocic
    2. Derrick Lewis
    3. Curtis Blaydes
    4. Ciryl Gane
    5. Alexander Volkov
    6. Jairzinho Rozenstruik
    7. Shamil Abdurakhimov
    8. Walt Harris
    9. Augusto Sakai
    10. Chris Daukaus
    11. Blagoy Ivanov
    12. Marcin Tybura
    13. Tom Aspinall
    14. Sergei Pavlovich
    15. Aleksei Oleinik


    1. Amanda Nunes
    2. Valentina Shevchenko
    3. Rose Namajunas
    4. Weili Zhang
    5. Joanna Jedrzejczyk
    6. Jessica Andrade
    7. Germaine De Randamie
    8. Holly Holm
    9. Aspen Ladd
    10. Katlyn Chookagian
    11. Yan Xiaonan
    12. Mackenzie Dern
    13. Carla Esparza
    14. Cynthia Calvillo
    15. Claudia Gadelha


    Champion: ROSE NAMAJUNAS

    1. Zhang Weili
    2. Joanna Jedrzejczyk
    3. Yan Xiaonan
    4. Carla Esparza
    5. Mackenzie Dern
    6. Marina Rodriguez
    7. Nina Nunes
    8. Claudia Gadelha
    9. Michelle Waterson
    10. Tecia Torres
    11. Amanda Ribas
    12. Angela Hill
    13. Virna Jandiroba
    14. Amanda Lemos
    15. Felice Herrig



    1. Jessica Andrade
    2. Katlyn Chookagian
    3. Lauren Murphy
    4. Jennifer Maia
    5. Cynthia Calvillo
    6. Joanne Calderwood
    7. Viviane Araujo
    8. Jessica Eye
    9. Roxanne Modafferi
    10. Alexa Grasso
    11. Andrea Lee
    12. Antonina Shevchenko
    13. Talia Santos
    14. Maycee Barber
    15. Miranda Maverick


    Champion: AMANDA NUNES

    1. Germaine de Randamie
    2. Holly Holm
    3. Aspen Ladd
    4. Irene Aldana
    5. Yana Kunitskaya
    6. Julianna Pena
    7. Ketlen Vieira
    8. Sara McMann
    9. Macy Chiasson
    10. Lina Lansberg
    11. Pannie Kianzad
    12. Marion Reneau
    13. Sijara Eubanks
    14. Karol Rosa
    15. Julia Avila

    There you have it.

    You can expect these rankings to change around this time next week — particularly in the women’s strawweight division — following the UFC Vegas 26: “Rodriguez vs. Waterson” event on Sat., May 8, 2021 from inside APEX in Las Vegas, Nevada.

    See you next week!

    This article was originally published on

    Related articles

    We are sending you 1π! Pi is a new digital currency developed by Stanford PhDs, with over 10 million members worldwide. To claim your Pi, follow this link and use our username (dushan219) as your invitation code.


    Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

    Latest articles

    Video: Jake Paul steals Floyd Mayweather’s hat, bedlam breaks out at presser for Logan Paul exhibition

    On Thursday, Logan Paul and Floyd Mayweather had their first faceoff for a June 6 exhibition boxing match in Miami Gardens. Then Jake Paul...

    Video: Between the Links, Live Edition: Jiri Prochazka’s highlight reel KO, Bellator 258, Diego Sanchez vs. UFC, more

    Between the Links returns with a special live edition to celebrate the 50th episode of the program. Host Mike Heck will be joined...

    Norma Dumont replaces Danyelle Wolf to fight Felicia Spencer at May 22 UFC event

    Felicia Spencer has a new opponent for her next fight. Officials announced Thursday that Norma Dumont (5-1) has stepped in as a replacement for...

    Jose Augusto vows to ‘slowly hurt’ Anthony Johnson at Bellator 258: ‘I’m more technical and faster than him’

    Anthony Johnson vs. Yoel Romero was one of the most anticipated fights in Bellator history, and now Jose Augusto steps in to play spoiler....